Rockhound of the Year

Each year the club membership honors an active member, or family team, who has made an outstanding contribution to promoting and furthering the goals of the Flatirons Mineral Club as the club’s Rockhound of the Year.

Since its inception in 2002, the FMC recipients have been:

Charlotte Morrison (2002)

Paul and Martha Ralston (2003)

Ray and Dorothy Horton (2004)

John and Jeanne Hurst (2005)

Ray and Joyce Gilbert (2006)

Chuck and Jan Buda (2007)

Cory Olin co-tie with Hallie and Dot Cook (2008)

Shaula Lee (2009)

Anita Colin co-tie with Gabi Accatino (2010)

Mel and Charlotte Bourg (2011)

Deborah Knox (2012)

Ed Raines and Silvia Pettem (2013)

Mike Smith (2014)

Tally O’Donnell (2015)

Dennis Gertenbach (2016)

Trick Runions (2017)

Jean Orr (2018)

Craig Hazelton (2019)

Brian Walko (2020)

Susanne Peach (2021)

William Rehm (2022)

Tony Bubb (2023)

You are encouraged to nominate a club member for this award by using this form:

2024 FMC_Ballot_for Rockhound of the Year award

Nominations can be submitted to Gerry Naugle at any meeting, by mailing to Flatirons Mineral Club, P.O. Box 3331, Boulder, CO 80307 or by emailing Gerry at Nominations are needed by mid-July.

The recipient of each year’s award is honored in the newsletter of the Rocky Mountain Federation of Mineralogical Societies and is inducted into the Flatirons Mineral Club’s Hall of Fame. The winner is announced at the annual club picnic.